Rereading Harry Potter as an Ex-Christian

As many of you know, I grew up in one of those fundy households that thought Harry Potter would steal my soul, or something like that. As a result, I didn’t read it until my late teens/early twenties, and that was a very rushed reading; ploughing my way through the first three books while my parents were on vacation, then waiting years before I could even get my hands on the next one. I thought I would take the time now to read it more leisurely, and share my thoughts. Now, there’s been so much said that I didn’t think a full review could add much. Instead, I thought it would be interesting to pause and add my thoughts at the end of each book. This post has been several months in the making, so I hope you enjoy!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher/Sorcerer’s Stone

I would have really enjoyed this book as a kid. I think J.K. Rowling’s approach of letting the books grow up with the readers was very clever. Unfortunately, I do think that makes this a hard series to come to as an adult. I recognize a clear, imaginative yet simple prose style that lets young readers fill in details with their imagination. Coming back to a familiar book in this style as an adult lets you tap into those childhood fantasies, but unfortunately a first time reading as an adult doesn’t have the same effect.

Still, one of the great things about this series is that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. I look forward to the next six!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Already there’s a subtle increase in the sophistication of the prose style. I enjoy the developing friendships between Harry, Ron and Hermione. This is also the one that introduces Dobby and fleshes out more of Ron’s family, both of whom I love. Now that the world has been set up, the plot with the basilisk and Tom Riddle’s diary can be fleshed out more than I think the mystery of the stone was last time.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t give this one as much attention as I wanted. There’s been this weird squeaking in my walls at night. Grant doesn’t hear anything, so maybe its all in my head. Then again, he’s a much deeper sleeper, so who knows. I can’t figure out what’s causing it, but it has made my sleep… fitful. I wake up without having rested.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

As the darkness of the series rises, I get more and more entranced. Last night I woke up around midnight, and was positive I saw a Dementor standing over my bed. My scream woke Grant up, and the image was gone even before he asked me what was wrong. No doubt I was only half awake, and my own voice brought me fully to consciousness.

Sirius Black is awesome. J.K. Rowling is a sadist for not letting him give Harry a happy home forever.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

I am getting acclimated to the lack of sleep. No longer do I yawn and slouch through the day. I do what needs to be done, without thought, and I wait for the night, when insomnia only gives me more time to read Harry Potter.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

I apologize for not mentioning the scratchings in the walls since my second summary. No doubt it’s been worrying you. I have not heard them in a long time, and the mystery has now been solved. The Dementor who woke me in the night came again, and this time I did not cry out. I knew it would bring no relief, and in truth I wanted none.

I rose and followed. The walls opened before him, and closed after me. There were tunnels, irregular in the contours of their walls, as though they had been chewed out by rats. I woke up in the morning, but I knew it had not been a dream. He had showed me. He showed me.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

I am the half-blood prince. I am blood, and half and I must be whole. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Some of its parts are not human. It’s part goat, and part man, and part nothingness. It demands blood. I must give it my blood.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Hail Satan.

2 thoughts on “Rereading Harry Potter as an Ex-Christian

  1. I loved the jokes of the first part, the books snapping like animals, the Diagon Alley shops. I read them as adult, too, as they were written after I grew up; I still found them compulsive.

    The dementor is following you…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

