Review: The Girl From the Well, by Rin Chupeco

So, remember that Halloween scary novel thing I was doing? Where all the authors were women from this awesome list? Yeah, this is one I didn’t quite get to post back in October. I always said this was a possibly November too project, so there you go. Ass covered. 

the-girl-from-the-well

What it’s about: A vengeful ghost meets a boy afflicted with a strange curse, and the consequences might doom or redeem them both.

Praise: This is the best book.

Full points for atmosphere, on every page. The descriptions of the ghost vengeance scenes were grotesquely vivid, in the best style of J-horror. But one of my principles of horror is that pure creepiness cannot be sustained for long. Rin Chupeco varies the tones of each scene; horrifying, creepy, tense, and a breath of heartwarming that gradually builds to ominous.

As I read, I had no idea where the plot was going, and I loved that. It’s been a long time since a horror story took me lead me somewhere blind; the formulaic aspects of horror don’t bother me, so long as they are well used, but it is fun to have a genuine surprise every now and then.

I loved every character, and the developing relationships between them. And most of all, I loved Okiku’s perspective. I love a truly inhuman point of view. Okiku hasn’t been a human for several centuries. She can tap into human’s minds the way most people peek into boxes, but she doesn’t think of people by their names. Mostly she walks on ceilings. She incessantly counts things. It made her eerie and alien, but she was still somehow relatable.

Criticism: None. Did you not hear me when I said this was the best book?

Recommended? Stop everything and read it.

One thought on “Review: The Girl From the Well, by Rin Chupeco

Leave a Reply

